at home with nana brown

Bobbie "Nana" Brown, proud wearer of many hats. Join me on this crazy journey called life.

Beautiful Bounty

on October 14, 2014

Picture

Beautiful Bounty!

Ok, so…my harvest may appear tiny to most but, to me, it is HUGE!! And yes, I am very proud of it. It is mid June here in Lexington, KY and the ground is already starting to show signs of not enough rain. You know, those tell tale cracks? Kind of reminds of a desert. I am hoping that we get some good, drenching rains soon but, until then, there goes the water bill budget.

Since we currently live in an HOA (Home Owners Association) neighborhood, we cannot utilize rain barrels. Otherwise, I certainly would! I feel using this type of water is perfect for watering outdoors and flushing toilets. What do you think? Is anyone utilizing the rain barrel method? How is it working for you? I would love to hear your thoughts.

And speaking of HOA’s; how do you garden? Do you live in an HOA that allows gardens and maybe even chickens? I have a tiny 4’ x 8’ raised garden and a huge dreams of moving to a more rural part of this area. I think an acre to three acres would be just about perfect for us. We are empty nesters living a pretty active lifestyle so, any more than that would just be too much to handle. I dream of have a mini orchard with apples, peaches, plums, table grapes and berries; a vegetable garden with tomatoes, cucumbers, lettuce, onions, peppers, yellow squash, zucchini, garlic, pumpkin, acorn and butternut squashes, peas, broccoli, plenty of herbs and of course strawberries and watermelon! I am also hoping to keep chickens for meat and eggs and possibly meat rabbits.

What about you? Are you dreaming it or doing it?

Leave a Reply

